The Republican Convention Theme:  “God Bless America”

Liberty

Yesterday evening I posted this message on my Facebook page:

If you listened to the Republican Convention speeches tonight, who do you think was best considering the content, delivery, and passion? You can give your first, second and third choices if you’d like. I’ll keep my choice a secret until I hear from a few of you.

I had several interesting replies, but before reading all the posts, I wrote down my choice for best speeches:

  1. Laura Ingram – knocked it out of the park with the content, enthusiasm, and delivery. I loved her stories about her family and how they worked hard to give her an education. She said she would work just as hard to leave her kids a better world. She also painted Hillary Clinton to look like the criminal she is. Laura would make an excellent press secretary for Trump.
  1. Newt Gingrich – He made the case for Donald J. Trump and against Hillary Clinton for keeping America safe. His delivery was strong, to the point, and he didn’t stop and wait for applause, but kept it moving. His knowledge and experience would make him a good Secretary of State.
  1. Eric Trump – Amazing speech for his age and experience. The same was true of Donald Jr. the previous night. And I expect Ivanka Trump to be just as effective. I didn’t hear Tiffany Trump’s speech, but everyone of Trumps’ kids make him look good.

Even though the Trump siblings are privileged (spelled RICH), they are not spoiled. They are poised, articulate, and gracious to one another and to other people. They have experienced at least two family divorces, but they seem to be very well-grounded, loving, and united as a family.  As far as I know, there has never been a bad publicity about any of them.

We know they have speech writers, but they can think on their feet as well. They are interviewed by the press and always answer respectfully and thoughtfully. Ivanka was asked yesterday about her father’s choice of Mike Pence for VP, whether it was a matter of demographic expediency. She said, “My father doesn’t think in terms of demographics. He thinks about the individual:  Does he have passion and drive? Is he knowledgeable? Does he have energy? Does he have a vision?”

What a great answer! She also told about following her father “on the job” as he dealt with workers and saw that he expects each individual to perform. That’s where the work ethic was displayed for his kids, and apparently they were not given positions until they learned and earned it.

I’ve never been a Trump fan, but you can bet your bottom dollar I’ll be voting for him. Anything to keep “Crooked Hillary” out of the White House. I am sure Trump’s rough persona in public has been shaped by dealing with people from all walks of life, from the construction workers to heads of state. He isn’t always kind, politically correct, or a smooth talker, but he is intelligent, fearless, and direct. We need someone who doesn’t fear his peers, whether they are in Washington, Tehran, or Moscow.

A matter of who gave the worst speech last night? I think it was Ted Cruz, who came across as a sore loser and missed a great opportunity to raise his own image in the eyes of voters. He promised to support whoever was the GOP candidate, but his speech was generic and looooooong!

I was a Cruz supporter, and voted for him in the primary. I heard a lot of negative stuff, but I didn’t hear anything verified, so I never really turned away from him. The media make up so much stuff, it’s hard to know what’s true and what isn’t.

But I was very disappointed in his speech tonight. What he said about the party standing for freedom was good, but it’s what he didn’t say that bothered me. He never endorsed the candidate, and went 13 minutes over his allotted time pushing Mike Pence’s speech into the 10 o’clock hour. So disrespectful!

Ironically, Trump heard Cruz’ speech before the convention and knew he wasn’t going to endorse him, but let him speak anyhow. Very wise, I think, because Cruz had a lot of supporters there, and it would have given them more fuel for feeling they were marginalized.

So Trump gave Cruz an opportunity, and he blew it. Too bad for him, but good for Trump. That move will not sit well with voters in 2020. If he and the other GOP candidates (Kasich, Graham, Jeb Bush) can’t put aside their egos and support Trump, they don’t care as much for America as they do for themselves and their political careers.

All in all, I’ve been very pleased with the tone and speeches of the convention.  Most every speaker referenced their support for the police, the Constitution, free market capitalism, small government, and their pro-life stance. They emphasized that we are “one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.”  I daresay the Democratic convention will mention God, unless it is to boo Him, as they did four years ago.

I’m a registered Republican, have been all my voting life, and probably will not change. I’ve been very disappointed with this year’s election results, and my candidate didn’t make it. But I still believe in our political process, flawed as it is, because the alternative is what we see in so many other nations – bloody coups, violent overthrows, or dictators who kill anyone who threatens their position and power. Along with Irving Berlin, I say:

God bless America, land that I love.

Stand beside her, and guide her

Through the night with a light from above.

From the mountains, to the prairies,

To the oceans, bright with foam.

God bless America, my home, sweet home!

GOP

 

About jpinok3

I'm a writer, happily-married wife, Mom, and Mimi, and I love learning new things. I enjoy reading, writing, surfing the web, photography, antiques, genealogy, OKC Thunder Basketball, OU Football, and spending time with my family and friends. I'm semi-retired, working from home as a freelance writer. I've published a biography called "Living by Faith - The Life and Times of Cecil and Norma Combs," which is available through Xulon Press, Amazon.com and Lifeway Christian stores. If you would like a signed copy, please contact me directly at jpuckett3@yahoo.com. My family is the focus of my life! I've been married to the same great guy since 1965. We have two daughters and a son, a wonderful daughter-in-law, son-in-law, and seven grandchildren who are the loves of my life. My family is a blessing from God, and I cherish them above all. I'm a conservative Christian. I believe passionately in the right to life and the traditional family as the basic structure of society. I believe in limited government that serves, but does not control the people. My husband Jim serves as associate pastor of ONE Church in Moore, OK.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

