Grand Old Party…No More

Back in 2012 during the election campaign, I wrote a piece about Democrat Joe Biden’s bizarre behavior during the televised Vice Presidential Debate as he and Republican candidate Senator Paul Ryan made their worldwide television appearance.Not laughing

Biden was like a court jester from the Middle Ages whose behavior bordered on psychotic as he smiled and joked about such topics as millions of people without jobs and the four Americans assassinated at our embassy in Benghazi.  ABC News Online said, “Big Bird has a new replacement, and his name is Laughing Joe.” about Biden’s ridiculous performance four years ago.

On the Fox News channel, a stunned Chris Wallace said Biden’s behavior was “unprecedented” and called his 82 interruptions and his attitude towards Republican opponent Paul Ryan “openly contemptuous.”

Joker

Wallace continued, “I think I have watched almost every presidential and vice presidential debate since the first four Kennedy-Nixon debates in 1960, and thinking back, I don’t believe I’ve ever seen a debate in which one participant was as openly disrespectful of the other as Biden was to Paul Ryan tonight.

I myself was shocked that anyone who wished to be taken seriously could demonstrate such outrageous behavior. “Thank God I’m not a Democrat!” I reflected.  Fast forward to 2016, and we’ve just witnessed a repeat performance by two Republican candidates – Donald Trump and Marco Rubio. As of this weekend, I am officially ashamed to identify myself as a Republican due to the unprecedented juvenile behavior of both candidates who rank among the top three with voters.

As if these two weren’t bad enough, another one-time GOP candidate who has dropped out of the race made a maniacal statement at the Washington Press Club Foundation Dinner on Friday. Senator Lindsay Graham (R-SC), who hates Ted Cruz because he won’t bow down to party leaders, said, “If you killed Ted Cruz on the floor of the Senate, and the trial was in the Senate, nobody would convict you.”  

At the same dinner, Graham said, “Our Party has gone batsh_ _ crazy!”

Rick Perry

As if to prove his point about the Party going crazy, Lindsey Graham jokes about killing Ted Cruz on the Senate floor. 

Graham told his Democratic colleagues that they aren’t his enemy. “We have a lot in common. We just don’t realize it.” I guess he must be referring to the fact that both parties have members who are Looney-Tunes!

Graham did say one thing I can agree with:  “You can’t nominate a nut job and lose, and expect it doesn’t have consequences.”

Hearing these three guys speak this way publicly is just so embarrassing to any Republican who wants to be considered a serious voter. Trump’s style has always been to brag, bully, insult, belittle, and intimidate in an effort to neutralize his opponents. I guess Rubio has now decided that any publicity must be good publicity and has joined Trump’s playground tactics.

Rubio Trump

Rubio and Trump exchange insults at the recent Republican Debate.

Trump tweeted out his insults calling Rubio, “Little Marco,“low life,” and “lightweight.” He brags to his adoring audience that Rubio “…couldn’t be elected dogcatcher, and jokes about his gulping water, having a “sweat mustache,” wearing make-up, and having big ears.

In return, Rubio entertains his college-aged pep rally by repeating the insults and trying to one-up Trump with remarks about his frequent misspellings in the tweets. He called Trump a “con-artist” who was hijacking the Republican Party, and ridiculed his spray tan, comb-over hairstyle, and small hands. He said, “He doesn’t sweat cause his pores are clogged from the spray tan that he uses. Donald is not going to make America great. He’s going to make America orange!” prompting laughter from the audience.

Today Britt Hume, one of the most highly-respected journalists in television news, recalled Chris Christie’s debate attack on Rubio for missing Senate voting and subsequently Christie found himself out of the race. Hume said, “It’s hard to berate an opponent and still come off looking good yourself.” Of the current campaign rhetoric and shenanigans, he said, “I’ve never seen anything like it!”

Well, neither have I, and I’m sick of these stupid, irresponsible men pretending they are mature representatives of Republican voters and are fit to lead our country. I wouldn’t trust them to be dogcatcher, much less President of the United States, and I’m embarrassed to be associated with such infantile behavior.

Can you imagine what people in other countries think? They must assume all Americans are nuts if these are the best candidates we can put up and actually see 30% or more of us vote for them.

In addition to the tarnished image these Republicans portray to the world, what do they think Democrats are going to do with such craziness? Of course, they will exploit it! We’ve just given them excellent material to use against us in the general election in November. As bad a choice as either Hillary Clinton or Bernie Sanders would be, neither has publicly made a fool of himself/herself during this political race. Though neither is a worthy leader, they do publicly conduct themselves as adults and make some of our candidates look like fools by comparison. And we begin to look like fools for voting for them.

I have long since left the left-wing establishment of the Republican Party, or rather it has left me. When Republicans began adopting the Democratic platform of  big government, runaway spending, abortion rights, and same-sex marriage, it moved WAY left of me. I have been a proponent of the TEA (Taxed Enough Already) Party, the conservative faction of the GOP which was formed as a protest to our exploding Federal Government, a runaway national debt, and ever-increasing taxes. We (the TEA Party) have been ridiculed and called almost every ugly name imaginable, not only by Democrats, but even by some of our own Republican leaders.

I have continued to stay registered as a Republican ONLY because of local politics, and because I want a vote in the Primary Elections which you do not have without an affiliation with one of the two major parties. But I now find myself questioning whether there is even any value left in that. I cannot abide being associated with the likes of Trump, Rubio, and Lindsey Graham.

This weekend’s idiotic display by these three men was a classic example of Proverbs 29:9, “If a wise man has an argument with a fool, the fool only rages and laughs, and there is no quiet.” (ESV)

GOP

Alas, the GOP (Grand Old Party) is no more! She has lost her dignity and the nickname no longer fits.

Thankfully, there are still sensible factions, and we still have three candidates who are able to rise above this childishness and discuss issues that matter: Senator Ted Cruz, Dr. Ben Carson, and Governor John Kasich. I hope and pray American voters do not reward the misbehavior of the others with their votes.

I cannot believe any thinking person would willingly hand the reins of America over to such fools…either of them.

About jpinok3

I'm a writer, happily-married wife, Mom, and Mimi who loves learning new things. I enjoy writing, surfing the web, reading, photography, antiques, genealogy, OKC Thunder Basketball, OU Football, and spending time with my family and friends. I'm semi-retired, working from home as a freelance writer. I've published a biography called "Living by Faith - The Life and Times of Cecil and Norma Combs," which is available through Xulon Press, Amazon.com and Lifeway Christian stores. If you would like a signed copy, please contact me directly at jpuckett3@yahoo.com. My family is the focus of my life! I've been married to the same great guy since 1965. We have two daughters and a son, a wonderful daughter-in-law, son-in-law, and seven grandchildren who are the loves of my life. My family is a blessing from God, and I cherish them above all. I'm a conservative Christian. I believe passionately in the right to life and the traditional family as the basic structure of society. I believe in limited government that serves, but does not control the people. My husband Jim serves as associate pastor of ONE Church in Moore, OK.
This entry was posted in Current Events, politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

