Oscar Night ~ The REAL STAR

Tonight is the night when the “STARS” shine in Hollywood. Glamour and glitter will be on full display for all the world to see. They will be the focus of fame, the adoration, the glory, the spotlight! The adoring crowd will follow them! Millions in TV-land will watch their every move and praise them.

Oscar nightI like watching the pre-Oscar show – the fashion parade – as much or more than the awards ceremony. But it has always struck me as weird that these people gather to tell us how amazing they are and how difficult their work is, although they receive the highest pay-per-hour of almost any profession.

I’m sure it’s tough when you have to travel away from home and family and stay in tricked-out buses or posh hotels. But tell that to our service men and women who leave home and family for battlefields where they stay in tents, barracks, or even in the elements, and receive less-than-minimum wage.

I’m sure they give up a lot of privacy, and their time is not their own. But tell that to pastors who are on call 24/7, and who must always be “on” for people who look to them for answers and help.

I’m sure they get tired after hours on the set with everyone looking to them to deliver, even when they don’t feel like it. But tell that to mothers of several young children who never seem to have a moment to call their own.

I’m sure there are difficult working conditions, since the only food available is on the set, and they have to eat on the job. But tell that to those who work at restaurants around the country and receive minimum wage or tips.

 The coveted award is just a little statue, but it can make or break a career.
The coveted award is just a little statue, but it can make or break a career.

I’m sure there must be some disadvantages to speak of, but after all the actors chose their profession. Most of those present will not receive an award or even be nominated.  But they will enjoy their night of basking in the limelight of friends and co-workers who do.

What a contrast these people are with the Real Star, who gave up everything to come to a world where He owned nothing. Oh yes, He had crowds who followed Him, as long as He was doling out free food and providing free medical care. But when all that was gone and He spoke His mind, they left. He turned and asked His disciples, “Will you also go away?”

No posh hotels for the Son of Man, who had nowhere to lay His head. No spread of food to satisfy His hunger, just bread and fish, and an occasional wedding dinner. He had to depend upon the hospitality of friends many times. No wages for His work and ministry. Not even a word of thanks from many of those He helped.

But He WAS the REAL STAR. God declared Him to be so in Numbers 24:17: “ I shall see him, but not now: I shall behold him, but not nigh: there shall come a Star out of Jacob, and a Sceptre shall rise out of Israel…”

One day, we will all behold His glory and nothing, no one will hold a candle to Him. Every eye will behold His brightness and glory. The Light of the world is Jesus!

Feel free to share your thoughts in the Comment section below.

About jpinok3

I'm a writer, happily-married wife, Mom, and Mimi who loves learning new things. I enjoy writing, surfing the web, reading, photography, antiques, genealogy, OKC Thunder Basketball, OU Football, and spending time with my family and friends. I'm semi-retired, working from home as a freelance writer. I've published a biography called "Living by Faith - The Life and Times of Cecil and Norma Combs," which is available through Xulon Press, Amazon.com and Lifeway Christian stores. If you would like a signed copy, please contact me directly at jpuckett3@yahoo.com. My family is the focus of my life! I've been married to the same great guy since 1965. We have two daughters and a son, a wonderful daughter-in-law, son-in-law, and seven grandchildren who are the loves of my life. My family is a blessing from God, and I cherish them above all. I'm a conservative Christian. I believe passionately in the right to life and the traditional family as the basic structure of society. I believe in limited government that serves, but does not control the people. My husband Jim serves as associate pastor of ONE Church in Moore, OK.
This entry was posted in Biblical Principles, Current Events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oscar Night ~ The REAL STAR

  1. kp152 says:

    Why did you have to go political?

    • jpinok3 says:

      Hmmm…I re-read my blog to see what is considered political. I suppose you could take the minimum-wage comment as political, but I didn’t intend it to be so. I have no dog in that fight! 🙂 Thank you for reading my blog and for your comment. I hope it was a positive experience otherwise.

Leave a Reply

