No More Excuses!

Did you make any New Year’s resolutions?  Did you set goals? Or maybe you just spent time reflecting on 2013.  As we begin a new year, most of us like to focus on what we want to accomplish. We often pray and ask God for a specific sign. We also read of this in the Bible, and sometimes (such as Gideon’s fleece) God gives a sign. Most of us would love to have Moses’ “burning bush” experience (Exodus 4) to know EXACTLY what God expects, right?

Burning bushWell, it seems even a burning bush didn’t convince Moses. After such an extraordinary display of God’s power, we would have gladly followed God’s instructions, right?

Probably not, because even Moses offered excuses as to why he could not lead Israel from Egypt to the Promised Land as God asked. Each of his excuses and problems was followed by God’s solution.

Moses:            What if they don’t believe me?

God:                 What is that in your hand?

Moses responded, “It’s just a stick.”  But it soon became a serpent, and then changed back to a stick. God even suggested other signs and wonders that Moses could perform if the people didn’t believe him. Still Moses wasn’t convinced, and offered yet two more excuses!

Moses:            But, I’m not eloquent.

God:                  Who made your mouth?

Moses:             I’m not capable – send someone else.

God (angrily):  Okay, you can take your big brother along! I’ll let you work with Aaron as your spokesman. I’ll put words in your mouth, and put words in his mouth, I’ll teach you what you should do. He is already on his way to meet you.

If God calls us to do something, He CAN and WILL prepare the way and give us everything we need – the tools and the ability to carry it out. We have no excuse!

Long before this time, God had begun preparing everything necessary to raise up Moses as His leader. He saved Moses alive when other Hebrew boys were killed by Pharaoh. He had placed him in the palace and given him the best education and training available. Now it was Moses’ turn to prepare for God’s work.

Moses finally got it – he set out for Egypt to meet Aaron. On the way, God tested him once again, commanding him to circumcise his son. It was required of all Hebrew males, and was something Moses’ should have already done. It was even more important now, because it was the way Moses would demonstrate his identity as an Israelite.

Even as Moses prepared to go, God had moved Aaron to come looking for him. He also prepared the hearts of the elders of Israel to receive them. Remember, Moses was considered an Egyptian who was raised as Pharaoh’s grandson. We all know the rest of the story as Moses stood before Pharaoh and announced each plague that God would bring upon Egypt, which finally convinced Pharaoh to let God’s people go.

Like He did with Moses, God gives everyone gifts and abilities. Paul tells us in I Corinthians 12:11 that each of us has at least one gift, and they are given so that we might do God’s work and further His kingdom here on earth.

So…what is that in YOUR hand?  What is God asking of you? Whatever it is, He is also giving you everything you need to do it.

What do you need to do to prepare for what God is asking you to do? Are you still making excuses with God? There are NO MORE EXCUSES!

Agree? Disagree?  Let me know what you think by commenting below.

About jpinok3

I'm a writer, happily-married wife, Mom, and Mimi who loves learning new things. I enjoy writing, surfing the web, reading, photography, antiques, genealogy, OKC Thunder Basketball, OU Football, and spending time with my family and friends. I'm semi-retired, working from home as a freelance writer. I've published a biography called "Living by Faith - The Life and Times of Cecil and Norma Combs," which is available through Xulon Press, Amazon.com and Lifeway Christian stores. If you would like a signed copy, please contact me directly at jpuckett3@yahoo.com. My family is the focus of my life! I've been married to the same great guy since 1965. We have two daughters and a son, a wonderful daughter-in-law, son-in-law, and seven grandchildren who are the loves of my life. My family is a blessing from God, and I cherish them above all. I'm a conservative Christian. I believe passionately in the right to life and the traditional family as the basic structure of society. I believe in limited government that serves, but does not control the people. My husband Jim serves as associate pastor of ONE Church in Moore, OK.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No More Excuses!

  1. Dwayne Harrell says:

    Great article Judy! I always wondered about how Aaron was alive since Pharaoh ordered all males to be killed but I guess it was after Aaron was born when he gave the order so in a way, that was another way God had been preparing for the release of the Israelites before Moses was even born.

  2. jpinok3 says:

    You’re right Dwayne, I hadn’t even thought of that preparation. Thanks for yourcomment. It’s always good to know someone out there is reading what I write. 🙂

Leave a Reply

